When I was in college, there were two poets who kept me going – who got me excited about words, and interested in how to use them without conventional boundaries.
Bob Dylan and ee cummings.

“who pays any attention
to the syntax of things” (from “since feeling is first”)
eecummings.gifee cummings from Wikipedia

The thing of it was, cummings paid very close attention to syntax – he held a masters degree in English from Harvard. So, his explosion of the common use of grammar and syntax was very studied, extremely purposeful, and something he began to play with in childhood.

It is a thrill to view punctuation as a part of the visual construction of the poem, and to listen to imagery of characters and love affairs. To me, it remains an invocation to a state of Synesthesia – to see smells, to taste colors and to paint (and knit) words.

Last week an allusion was made to this poem on ER. It’s a beauty of a love poem – here in its entirety –

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear
no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart


Love lingers long in cummings’ work – sometimes with heat – a favorite line . . . “
shocking fuzz.”
of your electric fur.”

I am compelled to knit some ee cummings. Hmmm, there’s an idea.

I have a plan to knit some paintings. My friend Joan Anderson is an amazing painter and teacher of contemplative art who’s work moves from the the edges of abstract to, more recently, contained forms, and uses the shapes and lines of kimono and ceremonial robes – right up my alley. I told her I want to knit her paintings – she liked that.

Reading cummings or listening to Dylan are like taking in the richness and stunning colors of a beautiful handpainted yarn. You need sunshine to understand it, you need to touch it to know its hand and drape, you integrate it with all your senses.

And speaking of Shakespeare in the Alley. . .
bob.jpg

Perhaps it is best that he speaks for himself

– a lyric of the moment –
“there’s no one to beat you,
no one to defeat you,
‘cept thoughts of yourself feeling bad.”
I keep this quote from “Ramona”  on hand for those moments when I get down.  Right on.

What’s on my mind today:

1. Contemplating being a dharma brat.

2. jandersoncoat.jpg
Ceremonial Coat by Joan Anderson(click image for larger view)

