celticknot.gif
This is an old Irish/Celtic saying – attributed back to the ancient first poet of Ireland, the Druid Amergin.
His song, as retold throughout time is:
I am the wind on the sea
I am the wave of the sea
I am the bull of seven battles
I am the eagle on the rock
I am a flash from the sun
I am the most beautiful of plants
I am a strong wild boar
I am a salmon in the water
I am a lake in the plain
I am the word of knowledge
I am the head of the spear in battle
I am the God that puts FIRE IN THE HEAD
Who spreads light in the gathering on the hills?
Who can tell the ages of the moon?
Who can tell the place where the sun rests?

And his song was further entrenched in the Irish collective soul by the poet W.B. Yeats in his work, The Song of Wondering Aengus in 1899. In this poem, Yeats details the story of a man who wonders out into the wood because “fire was in [his] head” and takes a branch from the revered Hazel tree with which to fish. What he catches looks like a fish, but is in fact “a glimmering girl; With apple blossom in her hair; Who called me by name and ran; And faded through the brightening air.”

What is all this about. Well, the term “Fire in the Head” is a phrase for being called to another word, to be taken by the fairies or to “Faerie” (fairyland) or a sign of one who can travel to and realms unseen by others and return with special knowledge.

Fire in the head. Heed the call. Ever urged on by my Irish, I have been doing some reading on Celtic spirituality and Earth centered faith. I have been suffering from chronic and severely debilitating migraines for years. A phrase like this stopped me in my tracks. There are several books and a lot of information dealing with this phenomenon. In his book “Fire in the Head, Shamanism and the Celtic Spirit,” Tom Cowan refers to this calling, as the “vocational crises” of the one who is being called to their true nature as a seer, healer, traveler, etc. And, this crises is marked by the onset of debilitating illness or unusual behaviors. Hmmm, got my attention. Sliante.

