(Image and Link and some of info below about Mabon – Wikipedia)

‘Tis Mabon – the Autumnal Equinox – one of the Celtic/Pagan “sabbats of the year,”  as seen here in the Wheel of the Year.  Yesterday was the International Day of Peace – and in the Shambhala World – the Harvest of Peace.  Mabon is known as Harvest Home, the Feast of the Ingathering, Meán Fómhair.  This holiday is a ritual of thanksgiving for the fruits of the earth and a recognition of the need to share them to secure the blessings of the God/desses during the winter months.

We had our semi-annual trip to our hot springs, but no naked knitting pix this year – I got a lurverly (NOT) migraine from the altitude shift, and although my memories relate to being in a car, some pancakes and being in the car – I actually enjoyed myself.  No knowing if the migraine would have come anyway, and this way I had all my boyz with me, even if I can’t really remember the sequence of things.  I did make sure I got in some water – and although I think it took me a REALLY long time to hike up the hill, I made it to the Party Pool – and had a nice soak – then next thing I remember is the car again.

No matter what – the Aspen were INCREDIBLE and as soon as Bill’s pix are downloaded, I’ll share.  The scrub oak was even turning – scattering the mountainsides with rich reds and oranges.  We may not get much Fall out here but woah, when those Aspen put an a show, it is something.  I will be picking (more) apples as part of my Mabon observance today  – and likely making PIE (check out the recipe here or the tab above.)  If you live by me and want some, let me know, I’ll save some for you.  The trees are BURSTING.  MABON!

[some of the corresponding “modern” western holidays – Yule=Christmas/New Year, Imbolc/St Brigit’s Day=Groundhog’s Day, Ostara=Easter, Beltain = Mayday, Midsummer=Summer Solstice, Mabon=Autumn Equinox/Harvest festivals,  Samahin=Halloween]

